Gadget
Now Reading
ASUS Zenfone 2 Review [UPDATE]
Gold Pokdeward
40
Review

ASUS Zenfone 2 Review [UPDATE]

by May 17, 2015
Positives
  • World's first 4GB RAM device in the market
  • Stunning PixelMaster Camera with Ultra-Light and Super HDR modes
  • 64-bit Intel Atom Quad Core processor
  • Very beautiful looking device
  • Powerful yet Battery Saver
Negatives
  • 2 weeks of waiting time since it's launch in Jakarta.
  • ZenMotion doesn't support custom gestures. You can only use the built-in one.
Pokde Scoreboard
Pokde Rating
Appearance
9.0
Features
8.0
Materials
8.0
Performance
9.0
Portability
9.0
Value
9.0
Bottom Line

PokdeGold Award worthy. Need I say anything else, really?

8.7
Pokde Rating
You have rated this
What's your reaction?
TMM
0%
Me Gusta
0%
Potato
0%
Sad Reacc
0%
Angery
0%

If I had mentioned the name “Samsung Galaxy S6”, or “HTC One M9”, or “LG G4”, you could immediately configure your mind into positioning these devices as “high-end” devices because these devices don’t come cheap. And we expect them to perform, after all you buy these gadgets with your hard-earned money. On top of that, because these devices are extremely expensive, they are not easily dispensable. I would need to spend on a handbag for SuperMommy before I spend on the next one anytime soon.

But what if I told you that I’m holding a device that costs one-third of your idea of a high-end device but delivers undivided superiority? Perhaps even better than your high-end device? In our mindset, if it’s going to cost one-third of the price, it’s going to be right in the mid-range or low-end range. But let me tell you this, you are wrong. Take off your ASUS Zenfone 5 hat if you are wearing one.

Beautiful Outlook

Even the packaging has been innovatively horizontalized!

Even the packaging has been innovatively horizontalized!

Look. If you think I am going to be biased in my review, just read this paragraph without reading the rest of it, then head to the town, validate this fact, and if it’s true, come back for the rest of the article. Chances are, you might just end up buying it there itself. The body of the ASUS Zenfone 2 is arc-ed in such a way that it just feels perfect in your palm. You could have a larger palm, or you could have a smaller one. But you definitely form an arc shape of your palm when you hold a mobile device. See, you are looking at your palm now. I was right, no? So to complement the naturally arc-ed shape of our palm, the back of the ASUS Zenfone 2 is designed to fit just perfectly. The brushed metal texture blended on the plastic back case is seriously not slippery and it feels firm in the palms. Okay, now you may head to your nearest store and validate this first fact.

Simplicity has a new name. The sides of the ASUS Zenfone 2 are empty. There are no buttons – at all! The power button is at the top and the volume button has been shifted to the back. ASUS decided to be innovative, but this is the first time you don’t have to worry about which accidentally pushing buttons when you hold it wrong. You are supposed to be able to decide on how and where you want to grip the phone at and not be blocked by some buttons on either side. This is where knowledge of user experience comes into play. You would only notice the difference when you actually hold a ASUS Zenfone 2 yourself.

You would not believe how comfortable holding this device feels!

You would not believe how comfortable it is holding this device!

World’s First 4GB Smartphone In The Market

Done already with the mid-range or low-end range mindset? Indeed, the ASUS Zenfone 2 has a variant with 4GB dual-channel DDR3 RAM and it’s the one that I have in my hands right now. Is there any difference in 2GB vs 4GB, you ask? Hell yeah – A big one! Especially if you are going to give it the Android 5.0 Lollipop breath! We have approached the times where idle phones are easily hogging 1.5GB of RAM (some, like my Samsung Galaxy Note Edge even hogging 2.3GB on idle!). You would demand plenty of memory to run bulky applications in this case. The ASUS Zenfone 2 totally has it!

64-bit Powerplant In Your Mobile

The ASUS Zenfone 2 sports the Super Quad-Core Intel Atom Z3580 2.3GHz (codename “Moorefield”). We brought the 22nm processors into mobiles, yo! And for your gaming, there is a PowerVR 6430 GPU clocking 533MHz with OpenGL 3.2. Combining this, the ASUS Zenfone 2 churns out a super fast touch response time of only 60ms. Know what that means? A blink of an eye takes 300ms, so the ASUS Zenfone 2’s touch response is 5 times quicker than that!

2015-05-15 22.06.03

Yep, Intel baby!

That is not too technical for you? The processor inside the ASUS Zenfone 2 is based on the same technology that was first introduced in the 3rd Gen Intel Desktop Processors (codename “Ivy Bridge”). It utilizes 3D Tri-Gate Transistor technology that provides triple amount of surface area compared to single plane (or planar) transistors. This allows a higher number of electrons through due to a higher surface area. This also means the transistor switching performance is much more efficient and power leakage decreases. Out of this, we get higher performance at low voltages and almost twice the power! Just the perfect combination isn’t it? Ask any desktop computer owner, what was the revolution in the Ivy Bridge processors that was legendary. This is the answer you would be getting.

The next question you would be asking me is what about the battery life with it having that many horses under the hood? I unplugged this device at 12pm today, and at 2am (14 hours later of continuous usage), I’m still left with 51%, approximately another 13 hours to go! Take a look at it yourself!

Don't ask me about the battery. I still have 51% after whole day usage!

Don’t ask me about the battery. I still have 51% after whole day usage!

11253834_10153291563394561_1406875149_n

Did you see how much on screen time usage?

11272291_10153291564464561_907057060_n

On screen time details

11275551_10153291565944561_1533845920_n

The second days without charging

Performance Beyond Imagination

Once again, let me prove you wrong that only high-end devices can perform awesomely. I took the ASUS Zenfone 2 to test against my Samsung Note Edge. Both devices were rebooted and running at their stock ROMs on idle, followed by immediate benchmark testrun. On the Samsung Note Edge, I got a total score of 45875. On the ASUS Zenfone 2, I got a whopping 46773! Then there was an OS update for (WW_2.15.40.13_20150506_3876_us_er_rel that was supposed to improve “stability”. Upon updating, I got an even higher score of 47246! Let the screenshots do the talking!

Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Score

Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Score

ASUS Zenfone 2 score before OTA update

ASUS Zenfone 2 score before OTA update

ASUS Zenfone 2 score after OTA update

ASUS Zenfone 2 score after OTA update

Stunning PixelMaster Camera 2.0

On the back of the ASUS Zenfone 2, you will spot a 13MPx camera bearing 5 element lens manufactured by the infamous Largan Precision, capable of taking pictures at f/2.0 aperture with dual tone flash for natural colors. There you go. One single sentence to describe the awesomeness the PixelMaster Camera has. Up front, we have 5MPx PixelMaster Camera 2.0 with 85° wide-angle lens for the selfie addicts.

The PixelMaster’s Low-Light Mode is definitely still the highlight of the day. Using this mode, you can capture low-light mode images and videos in under 1Lux lighting. The algorithm behind PixelMaster’s Low-Light Mode identifies details in the dark and automatically enhance the light sensitivity. Using pixel-merging technology that joins four adjacent pixels to form a new pixel, the light sensitivity is increased by 400% so you can take pictures in the dark without even using a flash.

Then we have the Super HDR. If Low-Light Mode combines four adjacent pixels, the Super HDR captures multiple shots that are then merged to create a detail-revealing HDR shot. The multiple shots are captured at different EV settings, and later is dynamically adjusted by detecting the environment lighting every second. Finally the Super HDR post-processing algorithm performs local area detection that expands the dynamic range up to 4 times that the picture can have 400% more brightness, contrast and details. And this is how you get super vivid natural pictures from the ASUS Zenfone 2!

Note that I am saving the camera review for my heads-on post coming up next.

The Ever Beautiful ZenUI

Since I got myself the red Zenfone 2, the interface was also matched by default.

Since I got myself the red Zenfone 2, the interface was also matched by default.

I’ve used too many devices in my life and I used to be a huge fan of HTC’s Sense UI. When ASUS bought over the Sense team and formed its ZenUI team, I knew the results would not be disappointing. I even proved that in my ASUS Zenfone 5 review last year. This time around, ASUS has upped the ante by making it even more simpler, smarter and yet giving more personalization options! With more than 30 native dedicated apps, you can say that ASUS has really put their love in delivering the utmost experience to their end-users. The ZenUI 2.0 is brighter, smarter, simpler and very beautiful! The stylish new layout expands white space for a cleaner design, placing the information you need front and center. I had to emphasize on this because I am a UX/UI Engineer myself and the toughest part in this field is balancing the whitespace perfectly.

Just look at how beautifully the icons are spaced!

Just look at how beautifully the icons are spaced!

 

Then they have included the ASUS ZenMotion that allows you to create just about ANY shortcut. While the display is off, scribble a “C” on the display to run the Camera app. Write a “W” to launch the World Wide Web browser. Or gesture an “S” for SMS. You wouldn’t realize it, but the less buttons that you have to press to reach your final destination is a big part in the User Experience understanding.

Varieties To Fit Your Style & Pockets

Now, after reading this article, it’s totally up to you to decide on which version to get. ASUS has brought ample options to spoil you with choices. As for me, I have the 4GB RAM instead of 2GB because you can never have enough RAM, 32GB instead of 64GB because there is an option for SD Card for my storage, Glamour Red because it has haunted me in my dreams since I saw it in Jakarta during its launch and Z3580 2.3GHz processor because I’m serious about my mobile gaming. What’s your choice?

Model IdentifierZE500CLZE550MLZE551ML
ProcessorIntel Atom Z2560 (1.6GHz)Intel Atom Quad Core Z3560 (1.8GHz)Intel Atom Quad Core Z3580 (2.3GHz)
Operating SystemAndroid 5.0 Lollipop
Display Size5″ IPS5.5″ IPS
ResolutionHD (1280 x 720)HD (1280 x 720)FHD (1280 x 1080)
RAM2GB DDR22GB DDR34GB DDR3
Storage8GB + MicroSD16GB + MicroSD32GB + MicroSD64GB + MicroSD
Connectivity3G, Bluetooth 4.0, Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/nLTE, Bluetooth 4.0, Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n
Multi-SIMNOYES
Rear Camera8MPx, Auto-Focus, LED Flash, f/2.0, 5-Element Lens13MPx, Auto-Focus, PixelMaster
Front Camera2MPx, f/2.05MPx, Fixed-Focus, Wide View, PixelMaster
Dimensions148.1 x 71.5 x 3.9 ~ 10.9mm152.5 x 72 x 3.9 ~ 10.9mm
Weight155g170g
ColorsCharcoal Black / Pearl White / Cherry RedGlacier Gray / Osmium Black / Glamour Red / Ceramic White / Sheer Gold
PriceRM599RM749RM899RM1099RM1299

Pokde-Gold

About The Author
Super Daddy
A proof that the real fun does not actually ends, but rather begins when you become a daddy. Enterprise Application Co-ordinator, Web Developer, Hardware Enthusiast, Gadgets lover, Android Evangelist, Desktop and Consoles Gamer, Metal Music Guitarist, Audiophile, Networking Freak, Radio Controlled Toys rat, Ferrari Crazy and above all - a daddy in every kid's dream.
40 Comments
  • lagunabad
    May 17, 2015 at 10:54 am

    kalau nak cerita pasal battery life, kene la tunjuk details screen on time brapa jam. baru lebih tepat. stakat tunjuk percent jerm kalau xpakai pon blh cakap battery tu jimat

    • Muhammad Firdaus
      May 17, 2015 at 1:14 pm

      Boleh dikatakan jimat, saya yang menggunakan ASUS Padfone S yang menggunakan Wi-Fi hanya tahan sekitar 14 jam sahaja, SuperDaddy pula hampir sepnuh masa menggunakan DATA. Maka saya boleh katakan bahawa ASUS Zenfone 2 ini jimat kuasa antara faktor utamanya adalah nanometer 22nm yang digunakan pada unit pemproses dan Tri-Gate transistor.

    • zamzam
      July 9, 2015 at 8:39 pm

      Bateri zen fone 2 4gb ram memang antara yg tertahan setakat ni…saya guna note 4 edge juga dan samsung tab s 8.4..zen fon 2 lebih tahan..bukan nk promosi tapi itulah kenyataanya…

      • Muhammad Firdaus
        July 9, 2015 at 9:11 pm

        Yes, there is a lot of response I received from my friend who using Zenfone 2, they love the camera and battery lifetime.

  • carbonytte
    May 18, 2015 at 11:35 am

    Have you guys tested out the battery performance when hardware encryption is enabled?

    • Muhammad Firdaus
      May 18, 2015 at 9:22 pm

      Encryption will naturally use more battery and event dont find it necessary for my personal use. So we did not do the test. Sorry.

  • Saharuddin
    May 25, 2015 at 4:36 pm

    I juat bought a Zenfone 2 64 GB and it went well until I found that it had a problem of downloading some apps in its Play Store. This just happened 2 days ago.

  • Kenny
    May 25, 2015 at 5:00 pm

    The battery performance well and important is the set the Auto-start Manager to optimized the battery with apps installed.
    What I can accept is the powerful rapid charging which able to charge upto 60% within 40 minutes.
    I will do quick charge during noon for 10 minutes to boots another 15% for day use (heavy chatting)

    Use ZenFone 2 (4GB and 64GB), so far so good.
    very impressed for the one hand operating function where customized screen size on your 5.5″ screen where you can easy work using one hand.

  • Jai
    July 9, 2015 at 2:19 pm

    Saya pengguna zenfone 2 …Saya tak boleh view pdf file yang sudah di download…bermacam pdf reader dah cuba di muat turun tetapi masih tidak boleh digunakan..ada suggestion tak?

    • Muhammad Firdaus
      July 9, 2015 at 6:27 pm

      Boleh kami tahu apa yang terjadi apabila buka file pdf tersebut? Sudah kemaskini kepada versi yang terkini?

    • zaman
      July 12, 2015 at 10:37 pm

      Try download officesuite

      • Lis
        December 27, 2015 at 9:33 pm

        Resit m2u tak boleh nak buka walaupun dah banyak pdf reader saya guna. Ada penyelesaian tak?

        ZE551ML

        • Muhammad Firdaus
          December 29, 2015 at 3:15 pm

          Resit tersebut sudah simpan dalam format PDF kan, jika dah dalam format PDF memang takda masalah hendak buka.
          Saya cadangakan guna Adobe reader.

  • Jackson Banus Tuzan
    July 9, 2015 at 2:45 pm

    Any idea whether mode ZE551ML (32GB) is now available in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia yet? Please advise.

  • Nazmi
    July 10, 2015 at 3:07 am

    Zenfone 5 sy guna, next upgrade zenfone 2 lte. Mmg berbaloi2….

  • hisyam
    July 10, 2015 at 1:05 pm

    saya tak boleh download game yang besar seperti gameloft dll.

  • Fifa
    July 11, 2015 at 10:00 am

    Hye,how to make sure that i buy a zenfone2 that is not a fake one?they said it was 13mp camera but after I use it,the picture are not as beautiful as it should.very dissapointed

    • Vyncent Chan
      July 11, 2015 at 10:14 am

      Hi, what do you mean not as beautiful as it should? And I don’t think there are fake Zenfone 2 in the market yet

  • redzuan
    July 12, 2015 at 10:06 pm

    Sy nk tahu , kalau kita beli zenfone sealed box , apa lagi yg dapat selain charger dlm kotak tu ?

  • am
    July 13, 2015 at 6:22 am

    hye , can i know whether zenfone 2 is better than i phone 5s? actually the fake zenfone 2 is available in market , so how could we differentiate the fake and the original one?

    • Vyncent Chan
      July 13, 2015 at 5:32 pm

      The easiest way would be to only buy from official ASUS retailers. May I know where did you find the fake Zenfone 2?

  • amiruddin
    July 13, 2015 at 9:31 am

    Macamana nak tahu zenfone 6 saya ori ke tak

    • am
      July 13, 2015 at 5:54 pm

      yes, they were sold before asus zenfone 2 launched in Malaysia…it’s more cheaper than the original one…anyone can answer my questions regarding the best phone between zenfone 2 and iphone5s

      • Vyncent Chan
        July 13, 2015 at 11:38 pm

        Do you mean AP sets?
        Well between the iPhone 5s and the Zenfone 2, it depends on your preference. I prefer the customizability of Android, while some prefer the convenience of iOS, so it’s really down to your own choice.

  • Amy
    July 14, 2015 at 6:34 pm

    Bole saya tnya, brapa harga zenfone 2 d area kk? Tq

    • Muhammad Firdaus
      July 14, 2015 at 8:52 pm

      Hi Amy, anda boleh semak harga ASUS Zenfone 2 di laman sesawang ASUS. Di atas bahagian kanan anda akan lihat varieti ASUS Zenfone 2 yang bermula daripada RM 599 dan ke atas.

    • Mia
      July 17, 2015 at 11:51 pm

      In Tawau, Zenfone 2 8GB -RM599, 16GB -RM749 & 32GB -RM899. Those are the standard prices in ASUS dealer shops here. I did my survey just last Wednesday. I’m sure they are sold at the same prices in KK as well.

      • Muhammad Firdaus
        July 18, 2015 at 12:18 am

        It’s same like KL pricing. How lucky people this year, it take about RM900 last year to get a device that pack with 2GB RAM and 16GB ROM. Nowadays with that price we can get 2GB RAM and 32GB ROM.

  • nursyam
    July 18, 2015 at 8:16 am

    Mcmne plak dgn zenfone 5 n 6 jika dibndingkn dgn zenfon 2?sy bru nk berjinak2 dgn asus..xtau pn nama model telefon asus…hrp dibntu..

    • Muhammad Firdaus
      July 18, 2015 at 3:23 pm

      Zenfone 4, 5 dan 6 adalah telefon pintar siri Zenfone yang dikeluarkan oleh ASUS pada tahun lepas, pada masa itu Zenfone 4 atau Zenfone C (selepas nama ditukar) adalah telefon bajet Zenfone, Zenfone 5 pula di tengah-tengah juga merupakan siri yang paling terkenal dan diminati ramai. Manakala Zenfone 6 pula adalah siri Zenfone yang memunyai skrin paling besar pada masa itu. Kini ASUS telah keluarkan ASUS Zenfone 2, bagi saya Zenfone 2 adalah penganti bagi semua siri Zenfone 4, 5 dan 6. Ini kerana Zenfone 2 mempunyai kategori harga daripada RM599 sehingga RM1299 mengikut spesifikasi. Jika nursyam ingin membeli telefon pintar ASUS Zenfone, di cadangkan lihat senarai harga dan spesifkasi di laman sesawang ASUS Malaysia dahulu. Dari segi prestasi ASUS Zenfone 2 memang sangat berbaloi untuk dimiliki.

  • azizol
    May 17, 2016 at 2:49 pm

    assalam..Kenapa asus zenfone 2 tidak boleh buka facebook dan youtube menggunakan perkhidmatan celcom

    • May 17, 2016 at 2:59 pm

      Cuba clear data dan cache untuk facebook dan youtube.

      Masuk Android settings -> Apps -> Facebook/Youtube -> Clear cache + Clear Data

      Anda perlu log masuk ke aplikasi tersebut selepas langkah di atas.

Let's Discuss It Further