HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire?

Raja Idris
9 Min Read
HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire?
  • Appearance - 8.3/10
    8.3/10
  • Efficiency - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Features - 8/10
    8/10
  • Materials - 8/10
    8/10
  • Performance - 8.2/10
    8.2/10
  • Portability - 7.9/10
    7.9/10
  • User Experience - 8.1/10
    8.1/10
Overall
8/10
8/10

Pros

+ Impressive camera performance
+ Dual speakers are surprisingly loud
+ Vibrant OLED display with 120Hz refresh rate
+ Unique look (design)

Cons

– Fingerprint magnet due to the glossy finish
– Ultra-wide shots can be seen resulting different colour temperature
– Bloatware
– No 5G support

We’ve recently received HUAWEI’s flagship smartphone so if you’re wondering what exactly it has to offer, find out exactly that in this HUAWEI P50 Pro review. Let’s jump straight in.

HUAWEI P50 Pro Unboxing

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review Unboxing

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review Unboxing

Straight out of the box, you can expect the following items to be included inside:

  • HUAWEI P50 Pro
  • Charging brick
  • USB-C cable
  • SIM ejector
  • Soft Case

Appearance

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 6

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 6

Looking at the front, the smartphone comes with a curved 6.6-inch OLED display with 120Hz refresh rate support. As you can see, it sports a single punch-hole camera in the middle.

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 7

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 7

Over at the top, there are two microphone holes, an IR blaster, and a speaker grille.

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 8

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 8

Over on the right side of the device, you have the standard volume rockers as well as the power button. As for the opposite left side, it’s completely empty.

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 9

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 9

Moving over to the bottom, we are greeted with the secondary speaker, USB-C port, microphone and the SIM tray.

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 10

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 10

As you can see, we have the silver colour variant of the HUAWEI P50 Pro. There are two circular cut-outs fitting the quad camera setup on the top left. The finish is pretty glossy and there’s the standard HUAWEI branding at the bottom left.

HUAWEI P50 Pro Specifications

CPU Snapdragon 8885nm FinFET
1 x Cortex-X1 @ 2.84 GHz + 3 x Cortex-A78 @ 2.42 GHz + 4 x Cortex-A55 @ 1.80 GHz
GPU Adreno 660
Memory 8GB
Storage 256GB
Display 6.6″ FHD+ (2700 x 1228) OLED display, 120Hz refresh rate
Audio Dual speakers
Camera 50MP f/1.8 main camera PDAF, Laser AF, OIS
64MP f/3.5 periscope telephoto, PDAF, OIS, 3.5x optical zoom
13MP f/2.2 ultra-wide camera
40MP f/1.6 B/W
Leica optics, AI Camera, Auto HDR, Pro Mode, Portrait, Beauty
Selfie camera 13MP f/2.4 selfie camera
Connectivity WiFi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax, WiFi 6
Bluetooth 5.2
USB Type-C 3.1
Software EMUI 12
Battery 4360mAh
66W fast charging
50W wireless charging (charger not included)
Dimensions 158.8 x 72.8 x 8.5 mm
Weight 195g
Ingress protection IP68

Performance

Before we begin the usual benchmarks, it’s worth pointing out that 3DMark was unable to be installed on the device for some odd reason. Should we manage to get it up and running, we will update the review accordingly. With that aside, let’s start with the synthetic tests.

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 11

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 11

First up is Antutu V9, where you can see that the performance from the 4G variant of the Snapdragon 888 is quite visible compared to its 5G brother for flagship devices that we’ve reviewed this year.

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 12

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 12

Geekbench tests out overall CPU performance and we can see that the Kryo 680 in the Snapdragon 888 (for the device, of course) is a bit lacking in both single and multi-core tests. It falls slightly short of the vivo X60 Pro, which uses an older Snapdragon 870.

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 13

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 13

Moving over to the latest PCMark Work 3.0 test, though the device is near the bottom half of the list, it’s not a bad score. It falls a bit short compared to the ROG Phone 5 and Zenfone 8 Flip, which scored the closest.

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 14

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 14

While it might seem bad that it’s at the bottom of the list, I personally believe that the battery performance is ‘OK’. You have to take into account that the device packs a smaller battery capacity and sports a high 120Hz refresh rate for the test.

As for real-life usage, I find that the phone can last me up to 1 and a half day before I find the need to charge it. Personally I feel that the device was helped by the AI battery management, allowing it to last longer which is a good thing. If you are wondering how fast the 66W fast charger is, I started the session at 1% and it rose to 55% in a 30-minute period. It also supports 50W wireless charging but unfortunately, it didn’t come with the box so we couldn’t test it out.

User Experience

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 15

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 15On the hands, the smartphone just screams premium with a clean look. It may annoy some however as you can easily get fingerprint smudges on the back. Of course, you could negate this by putting on a cover to solve that issue, should you choose to.

When it comes to media consumption, I can definitely say that it was an enjoyable experience thanks to the beautiful OLED display, which made the colours pop. Additionally, the dual speakers made it better as they are surprisingly louder than I expected.

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 16

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 16

As you might have noticed from a couple of our reviews of Snapdragon 888-powered devices, they tend to heat up quite badly. That doesn’t seem to be the case here with the HUAWEI P50 Pro. Even after playing Mobile Legends for half an hour, the smartphone simply warms up but not to a level that’s alarming.

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 17

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 17

The overall UI experience is quite smooth and snappy. There are no issues of any sluggishness, and seeing what the smartphone packs in terms of hardware, I’m not surprised. If there’s a thing that I’d complain here is the bloatware. There’s just too much going on in the folders, and there’s a lot. I’d rather have a much cleaner menu.

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 18

HUAWEI P50 Pro Review — Photography Extraordinaire? 18There’s nothing much new when it comes to the camera UI for the device. It’s straightforward and simple to use. If it’s not to your liking, don’t worry. You can choose to customize it to your very own preference.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *