iPhone 15 Plus Review – A Reboot

Super Daddy
15 Min Read
iPhone 15 Plus Review – A Reboot
  • Appearance - 8.9/10
    8.9/10
  • Efficiency - 9/10
    9/10
  • Features - 8/10
    8/10
  • Materials - 8.1/10
    8.1/10
  • Performance - 8.7/10
    8.7/10
  • Portability - 8/10
    8/10
  • User Experience - 8.4/10
    8.4/10
  • Value - 8/10
    8/10

Summary

The iPhone 15 gets a reboot with the availability of the USB Type-C interfact and the iPhone 15 Plus is definitely the most bang for bucks among all the variants. It has all you need to function as a companion phone; and a little more!

Overall
8.4/10
8.4/10

Pros

+ Beautiful display, sharp colors and crisp
+ USB Type 2.0, but supports DP
+ Great Cameras
+ Large battery with splendid life
+ Loud and clear audio
+ Excellent performance with optimized chip

Cons

– Lack of high / adaptive refresh rate (No ProMotion)
– No AOD (Always-On-Display)
– Still just USB 2.0 in 2023 for a device at this price point

After settling with my iPhone 15 Pro Max review, I was pretty eager to get my hands on the iPhone 15 Plus device. It perfectly sits between my previous iPhone 14 Pro and the iPhone 15 Pro Max that I just gave a spin to. Before you jump to conclusions and claim that it’s just another iPhone 14 Pro, hear me out.

Unboxing the iPhone 15 Plus

iPhone 15 Plus Review – A Reboot 6

iPhone 15 Plus Review – A Reboot 6

Inside the iPhone 15 Plus, you get the iPhone 15 Plus device itself, a USB Type-C to Type-C cable, user guides, a SIM ejector, and the Apple sticker. I’m not sure if the unboxing sensation will ever change for the iPhone, but it is what it is for now. Let’s get going.

Specifications

CPU Apple A16 Bionic
2 x performance cores (Everest) up to 3.46GHz
4 x efficiency cores (Sawtooth) up to 2.02GHz
4nm TSMC
16-core Neural Engine
GPU 5-core GPU
Memory 6GB LPDDR5 DRAM
Storage up to 512GB NVMe
Display 6.7″ 2796 x 1290 (460 ppi) Super Retina XDR 60Hz OLED with Dolby Vision, 19.5:9 ratio
HDR10, True Tone, Dynamic Island, P3, 1000 nits (typical), 1600 nits (HDR), 2000 nits max brightness
Audio Spatial audio playback with stereo speakers
Camera 48 MP, f/1.6, 26mm (wide), 1/1.56″, 1.0µm, dual pixel PDAF, sensor-shift OIS
12MP 2x Telephoto (enabled by quad-pixel sensor): 52 mm, ƒ/1.6 aperture, sensor-shift optical image stabilisation, 100% Focus Pixels
Stills: Night mode, Deep Fusion, Photonic Engine, Smart HDR5, Portraits with Focus and Depth Control, 63MP Panorama, Advanced red-eye correction, Burst mode
Video: Up to 4K60 HDR video with Dolby Vision, 4K60, 4K30 HDR Cinematic mode, 2.8K60 Action Mode, 1080p240 Slo-mo, Time-lapse with stabilization, Digital zoom up to 6x, True Tone Flash, Continuous auto-focus video
Selfie Camera 12 MP, f/1.9, 23mm (wide), 1/3.6″, PDAF TrueDepth camera
Stills: Portrait with Focus and Depth Control, Portrait Lighting, Animoji & Memoji, Deep Fusion, Photonic Engine, Retina Flash, Smart HDR 5, Photographic styles
Video: Up to 4K60 HDR video with Dolby Vision, 4K30 HDR Cinematic mode with zoom, 1080p120 slow-mo, Retina Flash
Connectivity WiFi 802.11ax, WiFi 6 with 2×2 MIMO
Bluetooth 5.3
NFC with reader mode
Ultra Wideband chip (2nd Gen)
5G NR sub-6GHz with 4×4 MIMO (Bands n1, n2, n3, n5, n7, n8, n12, n20, n25, n26, n28, n29, n30, n38, n40, n41, n48, n53, n66, n70, n77, n78, n79)
FDD-LTE Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 30, 32, 66)
USB Type-C 2.0, DP
Software iOS 17.0.3
Battery Li-ion 4383mAH
20W charging
15W MagSafe wireless charging, 7.5W Qi wireless charging
Dimensions 160.9 x 77.8 x 7.80 mm
Weight 201g
Ingress Protection IP68 (max depth of 6m up to 30 mins) under IEC standard 60529

Performance

The iPhone 15 Plus comes equipped with the Apple A16 Bionic chip, which I believe might be the final version, given that the iPhone 15 Pro Max has transitioned to the A17 Pro chip naming. This chip boasts a 6-core CPU, split between 2 high-performance cores and 4 power-efficient ones. The dedicated 5-core GPU handles graphics, while a 16-core Neural Engine drives its AI capabilities. Sounds pretty similar to the chip in the iPhone 14 Pro, doesn’t it? Time to see how it performs in real-world tests.

iPhone 15 Plus Review – A Reboot 7

iPhone 15 Plus Review – A Reboot 7

Kicking things off with our standard Geekbench test. Though it may seem like the same A16 Bionic chip found in the iPhone 14 Pro, the scores tell a different story. It’s now ranking second on our list for both single and multi-core metrics. If the gap was just a mere 100-200 points, we might’ve chalked it up to Apple’s oversight. But with such a pronounced difference, that’s certainly not the case here.

iPhone 15 Plus Review – A Reboot 8

Next up is the Antutu v9, and things just got a lot more intriguing. The absence of the iPhone 14 Pro on the chart? It’s because it scored below 1 million and sits much lower on the list. One clear takeaway is that Apple, despite reusing the chip from its predecessor, didn’t merely transplant it without further tweaks. The device’s optimization is evident in these results, and trust me, its impressive performance shines through in day-to-day use as well.