Review
Now Reading
The Last of Us Part II Review — We’re Not Ready For This
9
Review

The Last of Us Part II Review — We’re Not Ready For This

by June 12, 2020
Overview
Highlights

Join Ellie's adventure as she embarks on a quest to conquer her demons

Price

Standard Edition - RM239
Digital Deluxe Edition - RM299

Positives

+ Attention to the tiniest details
+ Gripping story
+ Decent amount of customization
+ Challenging gameplay

Negatives

- Would've been nice to have multiple endings
- Lacks multiplayer (factions)
- You're basically done with the game once you finish the story (unless you're a trophy hunter)

Pokde Scoreboard
Pokde Rating
Value
8.5
Gameplay
8.4
Visuals
8.6
Replayability
8.4
Storyline
8.7
Bottom Line

The Last of Us Part II is one of the games that make exclusives on the PS4 to be something worthy of being proud of.

8.5
Pokde Rating
You have rated this
What's your reaction?
TMM
89%
Me Gusta
11%
Potato
0%
Sad Reacc
0%
Angery
0%

As we’ve posted on our Facebook page previously, we got out hands on an early access for one of the most highly anticipated PS4 exclusive titles, The Last of Us Part II. After the huge success of its predecessor, can this live up to the expectations? Without further ado, let’s dive right into the review.

If you’re worried about spoilers, fret not. This review is spoiler-free, so we will not ruin the game’s story for you.

What is The Last of Us Part II about?

The Last of Us Part II is the sequel to the original game by Naughty Dog that was releaseed in 2013. The game is set five years after Joel and Ellie’s journey. They now live in a settlement in Jackson where survivors from the pandemic live and work together from the threat of the infected.

Up to that point, everyone was living peacefully. However, a violent event sparks a huge change which led Ellie to start a new journey to carry out justice while also fighting her inner demons.

Attention to Detail

The Last of Us Part II Review — We're Not Ready For This 20
The Last of Us Part II review

One of the things that I like about the game is the attention to the tiniest of details. Naughty Dog did an excellent job on the game’s characters. It’s nice to see how they react to the world and people around them, especially the facial expressions.

The world in The Last of Us Part II is absolutely stunning. The original game lets you dive into a beautiful apocalyptic world, and you can expect the same here but in a much bigger scale.

The Last of Us Part II Review — We're Not Ready For This 21
The Last of Us Part II review

In terms of the game’s difficulty, well I feel that it provides a decent enough challenge (on normal). On the easiest of difficulty settings, the game offers you some aim assist but I find that it actually made it harder to aim for headshots for that insta-kill instead. Of course, you can expect a tougher time on the higher difficulties as a couple of shots can easily kill you and enemies can spot you easier.

The Art of Story-Telling

The Last of Us Part II Review — We're Not Ready For This 22
The Last of Us Part II review

Troy Baker, the voice actor for Joel previously stated that “you aren’t ready” for the game and after finishing it, I have to agree. I can’t say too much without spoiling the story but what is about to transpire will definitely rock you to your very core.

With that being said however, I feel that the game starts off a bit slow. Compared to the first title, the original Last of Us got me hooked into the story within that first 20 minute incident. In the sequel, it take a bit of time but overall, the story-telling is brilliant as it had me thinking “what’s going to happen next?”. As I am a fan of good story-telling, I really rate the game highly on that end.

After finishing the game, I find there are some important yet subtle parts found in the game. If you don’t pay full attention to it, you might miss a few small yet informative details, which is something that you wouldn’t want to miss out on.

Why Fix Something That Isn’t Broken?

The Last of Us Part II Review — We're Not Ready For This 23
The Last of Us Part II review

In terms of the gameplay, most of the mechanics are pretty similar to the original but with some minor tweaks here and there. Without revealing too much on it, I’d say that I was more worried about fighting humans in the first game than the infected. It’s completely different in this sequel. As for the close quarter combat system, I somehow felt a bit of a God of War style going on, with there being a hit and dodge method going on. By that, you know of the importance of timing your buttons.

The Last of Us Part II Review — We're Not Ready For This 24
The Last of Us Part II review

Other than that, the hearing system is a bit harder now so you won’t be able to see enemies as clear as before. Just be sure to be aware of your surroundings and you’ll thank me later. There is the option of upgrading the skill however where it’ll make your life much easier.

One thing that has changed entirely is the lack of factions, or in this case the multiplayer mode. I feel that it would’ve been nicer if they had it in the game as it would probably keep gamers still in the game, even after they’ve finished the campaign.

The Last of Us Part II Verdict

The Last of Us Part II Review — We're Not Ready For This 25
The Last of Us Part II review

After feeling that the game was too slow in the beginning, boy was I wrong. Just when I thought I knew what was going on, the game slaps me right in the face and left me feeling shocked. This is definitely one of the games that PS4 gamers would be proud to have and play. With that, I am proud to award The Last of Us Part II with our coveted Gold Pokdeward.

 

The Last of Us Part II Review — We're Not Ready For This 26

A big shout out to PlayStation Asia for providing us with the copy of the game for this review!

About The Author
Raja Idris
The name's King, Kingky King. Likes to keep it simple and straightforward. A person who games regardless of what platform. Need value for money performance? Get AMD.
  • June 16, 2020 at 11:57 am

    Hype traiiiinn! would really want to feel the vibe of it! Even watching the trailer gives me chills!

  • Hanif Cheah
    June 16, 2020 at 11:58 am

    Hype traiiiinn! would really want to feel the vibe of it! Even watching the trailer gives me chills!

  • June 17, 2020 at 10:07 pm

    Long-awaited sequel The Last of Us Part II release date are around the corner. At first I not into last of us, due to friend introduce to me, i decide to pick up this title when Sony release the Play Station Hit ver. Is not just typical zombie apocalypse game. Action survival experience, Resources are scarce, so every bullet and health pack you use carries greater value. Scouring buildings for supplies is as important as figuring out how to get past armed enemies or fast-moving zombies. Story telling itself also great, showing player the in game details. Emotional of the character on their face during conversation. Two survivors of the zombie apocalypse who spend their days just trying to survive. The graphic violence is horrific, but more often than not, Joel does it in the name of protecting Ellie, and later on it’s Ellie protecting Joel. Fighting the zombies takes skill and stealth, and too often the human enemies are worse. The sense of pace and flow that underscores each level as a result is impeccable, each mission resembling a playable tapestry that builds and crescendos at a tempo that always feels unpredictable and compelling.

    The last of us 2 most properly gonna be Game of The Year. Will be such a waste if I missed the sequel as I have the first game. Wish I have a PS4 Pro for better gaming experience. I am so excited to know what going on with Joel & Ellie after 5 years. I am ready to feel the immersive & trilling environment again, soak up the atmosphere and enjoy the bespoke minutiae of Naughty Dog’s handiwork. Every place has a story, offering a window into both the world

  • June 17, 2020 at 11:10 pm

    I want to play The Last of Us Part II because I am excited to see what going to Joel & Ellie after 5 years.
    I pick up The Last of Us due to introduce by my friend, so i pick up the Sony Play Station Hit title. Last of Us was widely praised, with many critics claiming the action adventure was the year’s best video game. So, the anticipation for a sequel has been immeasurably high. The last of us not just ordinary games, 2 survivors of the zombie apocalypse who spend their days just trying to survive. The graphic violence is horrific, but more often than not, Joel does it in the name of protecting Ellie, and later on its Ellie protecting Joel. Fighting the zombies takes skill and stealth, and too often the human enemies are worse. The details & amazing graphic of the environment, I can’t wait to soak up the atmosphere and enjoy the bespoke minutiae of Naughty Dog’s handiwork, every place has a story.
    The sense of pace and flow that underscores each level as a result is impeccable, each mission resembling a playable tapestry that builds and crescendos at a tempo that always feels unpredictable and compelling. The Last of Us has incredible video game storytellers, instilling a sense of panic and dread in ways few games have managed.

    The Last of Us 2 most properly will be GAME OF THE YEAR, well know game reviewer are giving them very good review and score. Will be a waste if I skip The Last of Us Part 2 since I already have the first title. Too bad I don’t have a PS4 Pro to play the game at better experience. The long wait is finally over very soon!!

  • June 17, 2020 at 11:12 pm

    I want to play The Last of Us Part II because I am excited to see what going to Joel & Ellie after 5 years.
    Last of Us was widely praised, with many critics claiming the action adventure was the year’s best video game. So, the anticipation for a sequel has been immeasurably high. The last of us not just ordinary games, 2 survivors of the zombie apocalypse who spend their days just trying to survive. The graphic violence is horrific, but more often than not, Joel does it in the name of protecting Ellie, and later on its Ellie protecting Joel. Fighting the zombies takes skill and stealth, and too often the human enemies are worse. The details & amazing graphic of the environment, I can’t wait to soak up the atmosphere and enjoy the bespoke minutiae of Naughty Dog’s handiwork, every place has a story.
    The sense of pace and flow that underscores each level as a result is impeccable, each mission resembling a playable tapestry that builds and crescendos at a tempo that always feels unpredictable and compelling. The Last of Us has incredible video game storytellers, instilling a sense of panic and dread in ways few games have managed.
    The Last of Us 2 most properly will be GAME OF THE YEAR, well know game reviewer are giving them very good review and score. Will be a waste if I skip The Last of Us Part 2 since I already have the first title. Too bad I don’t have a PS4 Pro to play the game at better experience. The long wait is finally over very soon!!

  • June 17, 2020 at 11:13 pm

    I am super interested in The Last of Us when it was released on PS3. My friend told me how good that game but too bad that I didn’t own a PS3 during that time. He told me about the game every single day. He literally told me the whole story. I feel more interested in playing it. When I saw the news of the remaster version on PS4, I must buy and play it. A few years later I bought a PS4 and the game. I am amazed by the game very much, the story is so fantastic from the beginning until the end. I got the spoiler from my friend but it’s totally different compared to I actually playing it myself. Before that, I thought it’s just another game like the Resident Evil series but I was wrong. The gameplay is very life-like because I have to be very careful and know what weapon to use on every enemy. Shot it in the face with a shotgun or stealth kill with a knife. There is so much emotion in the story and I really felt touched playing it. When I saw the news that The Last of Us Part 2 is coming I am like, damn one I must play no matter what. After I read through the Pokde.net review on the game, I want to play it right now!!!

  • June 17, 2020 at 11:18 pm

    Weird… my comment submitted but I didn’t see it appear here.
    I am super interested in The Last of Us when it was released on PS3. My friend told me how good that game but too bad that I didn’t own a PS3 during that time. He told me about the game every single day. He literally told me the whole story. I feel more interested in playing it. When I saw the news of the remaster version on PS4, I must buy and play it. A few years later I bought a PS4 and the game. I am amazed by the game very much, the story is so fantastic from the beginning until the end. I got the spoiler from my friend but it’s totally different compared to I actually playing it myself. Before that, I thought it’s just another game like the Resident Evil series but I was wrong. The gameplay is very life-like because I have to be very careful and know what weapon to use on every enemy. Shot it in the face with a shotgun or stealth kill with a knife. There is so much emotion in the story and I really felt touched playing it. When I saw the news that The Last of Us Part 2 is coming I am like, damn one I must play no matter what. After I read through the Pokde.net review on the game, I want to play it right now!!!

  • June 17, 2020 at 11:27 pm

    I am super interested in The Last of Us when it was released on PS3. My friend told me how good that game but too bad that I didn’t own a PS3 during that time. He told me about the game every single day. He literally told me the whole story. I feel more interested in playing it. When I saw the news of the remaster version on PS4, I must play it. A few years later I bought a PS4 and the game. I am amazed by the game very much, the story is so fantastic from the beginning until the end. I got the spoiler from my friend but it’s totally different compared to I actually playing it myself. Before that, I thought it’s just another game like the Resident Evil series but I was wrong. The gameplay is very life-like because I have to be very careful and know what weapon to use on every enemy. Shot it in the face with a shotgun or stealth kill with a knife. There is so much emotion in the story and I really felt touched playing it. When I saw the news that The Last of Us Part 2 is coming I am like, damn one I must play no matter what. After I read through the Pokde.net review on the game, I want to play it right now!!!

  • June 18, 2020 at 9:19 am

    Hmm… my comment not pop out again. I wonder what happened.
    I am super interested in The Last of Us when it was released on PS3. My friend told me how good that game but too bad that I didn’t own a PS3 during that time. He told me about the game every single day. He literally told me the whole story. I feel more interested in playing it. When I saw the news of the remaster version on PS4, I must buy and play it. A few years later I bought a PS4 and the game. I am amazed by the game very much, the story is so fantastic from the beginning until the end. I got the spoiler from my friend but it’s totally different compared to I actually playing it myself. Before that, I thought it’s just another game like the Resident Evil series but I was wrong. The gameplay is very life-like because I have to be very careful and know what weapon to use on every enemy. Shot it in the face with a shotgun or stealth kill with a knife. There is so much emotion in the story and I really felt touched playing it. When I saw the news that The Last of Us Part 2 is coming I am like, damn one I must play no matter what. After I read through the Pokde.net review on the game, I want to play it right now!!!

Let's Discuss It Further