Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We’ve Been Waiting For?

Raja Idris
11 Min Read
Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We’ve Been Waiting For?
  • Appearance - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Efficiency - 7.6/10
    7.6/10
  • Features - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Materials - 8.4/10
    8.4/10
  • Performance - 8/10
    8/10
  • Portability - 8.3/10
    8.3/10
  • User Experience - 8/10
    8/10
  • Value - 7.9/10
    7.9/10

Summary

While the Xiaomi 11T Pro provided a handful of upgrades from its predecessor, it still has some things to be improved.

Overall
8.2/10
8.2/10

Pros

+ Vibrant AMOLED display
+ 120Hz refresh rate
+ Harmon Kardon speakers are actually nice
+ Speedy 120W fast charger
+ Sharp photo results in good lighting

Cons

– Glossy back attracts fingerprints
– Thermals is an issue
– Lacks 3.5mm headphone jack
– Super Macro mode seems overly processed

We’ll be taking a look at Xiaomi’s latest flagship smartphone in this Xiaomi 11T Pro review. What exactly does it bring to the table? Let’s get started.

Unboxing

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 4

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 4

The packaging seems to be standard issue from the company, aside from its powerful 120W fast charger. Here’s what you’ll find inside the box:

  • Xiaomi 11T Pro
  • Charging brick
  • USB-C cable
  • SIM ejector
  • Documentation
  • TPU case

Appearance

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review

On the front is a 6.67-inch AMOLED DotDisplay, which comes with a fast 120Hz refresh rate. The bezels are noticeable all around but nothing excessive.

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 5

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 5

On the right hand side of the device is where you’ll find the volume rockers and power button. The corners of the phone is made out of plastic, and from this angle, you can see that it doesn’t lay completely flat due to the camera bump. As for the left side, it’s completely naked there.

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 6

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 6

Moving to the top, you can see the first speaker grille of the device, which the audio is tuned by Harman Kardon as you can see by the branding in the middle. Topping it off is an IR blaster, something you don’t normally see in smartphones these days.

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 7

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 7

Down below is where you’ll find the SIM tray. Aside from that, you have the microphone hole, USB-C port, and second speaker grille, which completes the stereo speaker setup.

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 8

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 8

As you can see from the back, it’s quite reflective. They’ve used glass for the back and it comes with a glossy finish. Of course, there’s the company’s branding towards the bottom. Finally, there’s the 108MP triple camera setup located on the top left corner.

Xiaomi 11T Pro Specifications

CPU Snapdragon 888 Octa-core (1×2.84GHz Kryo 680 + 3×2.42GHz Kryo 680 + 4×1.80GHz Kryo 680), 5nm
GPU Adreno 660
Memory 8GB
Storage 256GB
Display 6.67″ FHD+ (2400x 1080) AMOLED display, 120Hz refresh rate, HDR10+, Corning Gorilla Glass Victus
Audio Harmon Kardon dual speakers
Camera 108MP f/1.8 main camera
8MP f/2.2 ultra-wide angle
5MP f/2.4 telemacro camera
AI Camera, Auto HDR, Pro Mode, Vlog Mode, Movie Effects, Portrait, Beauty
Selfie camera 16MP f/2.25 selfie camera
Connectivity 5G Band n1/n3/n5/n7/n8/n20/n28/n38/n40/n41/n66/n77/n78
LTE Band 1/ 2/ 3/ 4/ 5/ 7/ 8/ 12/ 13/ 17/ 18/ 19/ 29/ 26/ 28/ 32/ 66
WiFi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax, WiFi 6
Bluetooth 5.2
NFC
Software MIUI 12.5 based on Android 11
Battery 5000mAh
120W Xiaomi HyperCharge
Dimensions 164.1 x 76.9 x 8.8 mm
Weight 204g
Ingress protection N/A

Performance

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 9

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 9

This isn’t the first time that we’ve tested a Snapdragon 888-powered device, and starting off with Antutu V9, the phone didn’t score as high as we expected. We reckoned that it would be near the top of the list, but as you can see here, that doesn’t seem to be the case. In fact, there’s seem to be a notable gap in performance compared to the top two devices for some odd reason.

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 10

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 10

While the multi-core performance is impressive on Geekbench 5, the same can’t be said on the single-core test. As you can see, it’s quite a difference from the rest of the Snapdragon 888 devices on the list.

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 11

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 11When it comes to graphical performance, the Xiaomi 11T Pro had the best performance in Wild Life Unlimited on 3DMark, which is quite the feat. That being said however, the other two tests came up short compared to the rest of the flagships that we recently tested.

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 12

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 12On PCMark’s Work 3.0 on the other hand, the score is essentially where we expected it to be. No surprises here to say the least.

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 13

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 13While we know that the Snapdragon 888 drains a lot of battery from the ones that we’ve tested, surprisingly, the Xiaomi 11T Pro didn’t do too bad here. We ran it with 120Hz refresh rate enabled, which makes it even more impressive.

In real life usage, I find that the battery showed a similar result as it’d take me around 1 and a half days for me to find a reason to go and charge it. Usage includes some light games, social media scrolling, messaging, and watching several videos on YouTube and Facebook.

This is the first time that Xiaomi has brought their higher end charger tot he mix. If you’re not familiar with how fast its 120W charger is, it’s really speedy. It has no problems charging from 11% to 100% in less than 30 minutes. Personally I had worries that the charger would heat up on the device but to my surprise, that was not the case. If anything, it was only lukewarm at best.

User Experience

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 14

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 14

On hand, the Xiaomi 11T Pro feels premium but it’s not the best that I’ve experienced however. I personally feel that the plastic sides lower the score on that end. Not really bad, but not that great either. It does feel solid regardless as it’s not cheap plastic, but it’s also aided by the weight.

I can’t complain about this enough. I just hate glossy finishes on smartphones and that’s what you see on the back. Sure, it does look nice and reminds me of an old guitar that I’ve used back in my days but having it smudged with fingerprints doesn’t look or feel nice.

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 15

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 15

In terms of audio, the dual speakers tuned by Harmon Kardon isn’t just for show. Though it’s not a huge deal, you can expect some punchy bass from the phone, which is nice given it’s just built-in speakers in a smartphone.

Continuing on media consumption, the screen is an upgrade from the previous Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro, where it sports an AMOLED display with 120Hz refresh rate and comes with HDR10+ support. The colours are vibrant and it definitely brings a more enjoyable experience to watch all your content.

When it comes to gaming however, it’s not exactly welcoming news. You might recall in our Mi 11 review that the Snapdragon 888 can generate a lot of heat while gaming so we’ve tested it out yet again on Genshin Impact. After 15 minutes in, we can definitely feel that the phone was warming up. Specifically it went up to 48°C. That’s still lower than the Mi 11, but then again, you definitely wouldn’t want your device to be around those temperatures.

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review UI

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review UI

If you’ve used Xiaomi’s smartphones before, expect a similar experience with their MIUI 12.5 skin. Everything’s easy to use and you won’t feel lost navigating around. The 120Hz refresh rate definitely made it smoother as well. Aside from that, the haptic feedback feels awesome. There’s definitely nothing to complain here.

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 16

Xiaomi 11T Pro Review — The Flagship We've Been Waiting For? 16

Most of the features in the camera is the same as before but seeing how Xiaomi is targeting videography this time around, there’s plenty of video filters that you can choose from, including an HDR mode which was not present in the Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *