iPhone 14 Pro Review – A Refined Experience

Super Daddy
36 Min Read
iPhone 14 Pro Review – A Refined Experience
  • Appearance - 9/10
    9/10
  • Efficiency - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Features - 8/10
    8/10
  • Materials - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Performance - 9/10
    9/10
  • Portability - 9/10
    9/10
  • User Experience - 8.3/10
    8.3/10
  • Value - 7.5/10
    7.5/10

Summary

It’s an iPhone and its supposed to surprise you. This one definitely did on me.

Overall
8.6/10
8.6/10

Pros

+ Simple block design with curvy edges
+ Seamless and snappy performance
+ Insanely good battery life for its size
+ Super Retina XDR with ProMotion is definitely lovable
+ Probably the best camera on a smartphone this year
+ Loud and clear audio
+ Dynamic Island does add advantages

Cons

– Dynamic Island can still use a lot of improvements
– AOD is too bright and feels like battery draining
– No charger included is still going to be a minus point
– About time we drop the Lightning port and adopt USB-C

People always say that iPhone “just works” but I never understood what it actually means. What does not work on Android that works on iPhone? Usually, it would be Aiman who does Apple reviews, but this time around, someone challenged me to survive on an iPhone for a couple of weeks and see where it takes me there and I accepted the challenge. Bear in mind, outside of iPod Touch, this is the first iPhone I’m taking for a spin so I’m brutally Android driven reviewing an iPhone 14 Pro here.

Unboxing

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 6

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 6

Apple has minimized the packaging by a lot even since the last generation Apple iPhone 13 series. You get the iPhone 14 Pro, a USB-C to Lightning cable, user guides, a SIM ejector and an Apple sticker that has been around for generations even in their Macbooks. This is a rather interesting fiasco for me because this is my first ever iPhone and I don’t have the charger. Or so I thought. My existing chargers from Android did just fine especially since my recent devices have been using USB-C connectors.

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 7

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 7

I did fork out a beefy RM179 for the MagSafe Charger though because I wanted to have a holistic experience of the device, so there’s that.

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 8

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 8

I went with the Space Black because boy, that color is outstanding! Much nicer than the supposed to be newly introduced Deep Purple.

Specifications

CPU Apple Bionic 16
2 x Everest @ up to 3.46GHz (Performance cores)
4 x Sawtooth @ up to 2.20GHz (Efficient cores)
4nm TSMC
16-core Neural Engine
GPU 5-core GPU
Memory 6GB LPDDR5
Storage 1TB NVMe
Display 6.1″ 2556 x 1179 (460 ppi) LTPO Super Retina XDR 120Hz OLED with Dolby Vision, 2000 nits, 19.5:9 ratio
10-120Hz ProMotion adaptive refresh rate
HDR10, True Tone, P3, 1000 nits max brightness
Audio Spatial audio playback with stereo speakers
Camera 48MP f/1.78 main camera, 1.22µm pixels, 7P lens, sensor-shift OIS, 100% Focus Pixels
12MP f/2.2 ultra-wide, 1.4µm pixels, 6P lens, 100% Focus Pixels
12MP f/2.8 3X telephoto, 6P lens, OIS
Stills: Night mode portrait, Portrait mode, Portrait Lighting, Adaptive True Tone flash, Panorama, Night mode, Deep Fusion, Smart HDR 4, Apple ProRAW, Photographic Styles, Macro Photography
Video: Up to 4K60 HDR video with Dolby Vision, 4K30 ProRes video, 4K30 HDR Cinematic mode, 1080p240 slow-mo
Selfie Camera 12MP f/1.9, 23mm (wide), 1/3.6″ selfie camera
Stills: Portrait mode, Portrait Lighting, Animoji & Memoji, Deep Fusion, Smart HDR 4, Apple ProRAW, Photographic styles
Video: Up to 4K60 HDR video with Dolby Vision, 4K30 HDR Cinematic mode, 4K30 ProRes video, 1080p120 slow-mo, Retina Flash
Connectivity WiFi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax, WiFi 6 with 2×2 MIMO
Bluetooth 5.3
NFC with reader mode
Ultra Wideband chip
5G Band n1, n2, n3, n5, n7, n8, n12, n14, n20, n25, n26, n28, n29, n30, n38,
n40, n41, n48, n53, n66, n70, п71, n77, n78 n79
5G mmWave Band n258, n260, n261FDD-LTE Band 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29, 30, 32,
66, 71
Apple Lightning
Software iOS 16.0.2
Battery 3200mAh
20W fast charging
15W MagSafe wireless charging, 7.5W Qi wireless charging
Dimensions 147.5 x 71.5 x 7.85 mm
Weight 206g
Ingress Protection IP68 (max depth of 6m up to 30 mins) under IEC standard 60529

Performance

The iPhone 14 Pro houses Apple A16 Bionic CPU. While the iPhone 14 got the same last generation Apple Bionic 15, the iPhone 14 Pro got some beefed up improvements, especially the 4nm process as opposed to 5nm in the past. It’s touted to deliver better efficiency and performance with higher memory bandwidth. The hexa-core has the core speeds bumped up too. The iPhone 14 Pro also adopts LPDDR5 memory as opposed to LPDDR4X in the past. I guess, there’s one way to find out how much improvement is on the plate.

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 9

As usual, we run our Geekbench test for starters. Both the single core and multi-core performance are far improved in comparison to the previous generation. Even the SD8+ Gen 1 comes nowhere near to the A16 Bionic’s prowess as can be seen here. Apple wasn’t lying when it said the A16 Bionic has been far improved for performance and efficiency.

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 10

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 10

Up next we have the Antutu v7 benchmark. Scoring a whopping 970K that puts it 110K points ahead of the iPhone 13 Pro. Note that this is the second iteration of the iPhone Pro model that we are testing, so our data is only compared to the iPhone 13 Pro. We also are not comparing this against other Android devices due to differing graphics API implementation.

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 11

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 11

The Wild Life Extreme Unlimited also pushes the iPhone 14 Pro to its limit and it managed to squeeze quite a fiddle with its score with an overall 3026 average 18.1 fps. This test pushes 4K rendering and puts most smartphones down to their knees, so the fact that the iPhone 14 Pro managed to get quite a score is indeed amazing. The battery drop was also a measly 2% compared to 3% in the last gen iPhone 13 Pro proving its efficiency in running intense graphics run.

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 12

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 12

The Wild Life Unlimited test is now too basic for the iPhone 14 Pro but if you wish, 12337 overall score with 73.9 fps for a 2560 x 1440 test shows that even 1440p is now a piece of cake for the iPhones. Moving forward, we can omit the Wild Life Unlimited test from future iPhone testing.

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 13

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 13

Up next is my favorite test, the stress test. This is a rather demanding 20-minute test that shows how a device will perform under heavy load on continuous usage. Afterall, its during long gaming hours that you will actually see the real performance on the device as it builds up heat from within.  As we can see, the iPhone 14 Pro managed to hold stress levels for a longer period of time before it finally dropped to its lowest loop, achieving a stability of 64.2%. Right off the bat, the initial scores were hitting 12K bases promising capability to really handle some punch.

iPhone 14 Pro Review - A Refined Experience 14