iPhone 15 Pro Max Review – Titanium Temptations

Super Daddy
27 Min Read
iPhone 15 Pro Max Review – Titanium Temptations
  • Appearance - 9.1/10
    9.1/10
  • Efficiency - 8.4/10
    8.4/10
  • Features - 9/10
    9/10
  • Materials - 9/10
    9/10
  • Performance - 9.2/10
    9.2/10
  • Portability - 9/10
    9/10
  • User Experience - 8.4/10
    8.4/10
  • Value - 7.8/10
    7.8/10

Summary

This is probably the best iPhone to get right now. Regardless of which iPhone you are coming from. The Type-C is worth the adoption. Go for the Pro Max version for the larger battery and display, but dont need to buy too large storage.

Overall
8.7/10
8.7/10

Pros

+ Top-notch performance and butter smooth experience
+ Camera setup is probably the one reason to get it
+ Finally zoom capabilities using Cinematic Video mode
+ USB Type-C opens up so much possibilities
+ Battery is definitely not disappointing for my usage
+ The curved edges definitely feel so much nicer to hold
+ You can now set the default camera lens to load every time you fire up the camera
+ Customizable Action button and we all love customizability

Cons

– Boring design. Can’t differentiate easily with the previous generation
– The heat is rather significant at least before iOS 17.0.3
– Not digging the “Contact Poster” and “Name Drop” for how it works
– External storage mounting methods (or supported FS) need to be improved

A year ago, I delved into the Apple ecosystem with the iPhone 14 Pro, marking my inaugural journey with Apple’s iconic device. Since then, my tech arsenal has expanded, welcoming the iPad Mini, MacBook Pro M2, and Mac Mini M2. However, it hasn’t been a seamless transition. My trusty Android remains by my side, compensating for areas where the iPhone falls short. Yet, there’s an air of anticipation with the arrival of the iPhone 15 Pro Max. As the most formidable member of the iPhone 15 lineup, I opted for the 1TB variant to truly gauge its prowess. Has this swayed my allegiance completely towards Apple? Let’s delve deeper.

Unboxing iPhone 15 Pro Max

iPhone 15 Pro Max Review - Titanium Temptations 6

iPhone 15 Pro Max Review - Titanium Temptations 6

For seasoned iPhone enthusiasts, unboxing may feel like a familiar ritual. However, the anticipation of discovering the device’s features never wanes. The iPhone 15 Pro Max package retains elements from its predecessors: the device itself, a USB Type-C to Type-C cable (which is new this time around), user manuals, a SIM ejector tool, and the quintessential Apple sticker. A fun sidenote: my son eagerly awaits that sticker every time I unveil a new Apple product.

iPhone 15 Pro Max Review - Titanium Temptations 7

iPhone 15 Pro Max Review - Titanium Temptations 7

Recalling my iPhone 14 Pro purchase, I had invested in the MagSafe Charger. Fortunately, this accessory remains compatible, ensuring my initial investment endures. And if you’re curious about the color choice, I opted for the distinctive Blue Titanium – a shade that stands out amidst its counterparts.

Specifications

CPU Apple A17 Pro
2 x performance cores up to 3.78GHz
4 x efficiency cores up to 2.11GHz
3nm TSMC
16-core Neural Engine
GPU 6-core GPU
Memory 8GB Micron ‘D1β’ LPDDR5 DRAM
Storage 1TB NVMe
Display 6.7″ 2796 x 1290 (460 ppi) LTPO Super Retina XDR 120Hz OLED with Dolby Vision, 19.5:9 ratio
10-120Hz ProMotion adaptive refresh rate
HDR10, True Tone, P3, 1000 nits (typical), 1600 nits (HDR), 2000 nits max brightness
Audio Spatial audio playback with stereo speakers
Camera 48 MP, f/1.8, 24mm (wide), 1/1.28″, 1.22µm, dual pixel PDAF, sensor-shift OIS
12 MP, f/2.8, 120mm (periscope telephoto), 1/3.06″, 1.12µm, dual pixel PDAF, 3D sensor‑shift OIS, 5x optical zoom
12 MP, f/2.2, 13mm, 120˚ (ultrawide), 1/2.55″, 1.4µm, dual pixel PDAF
TOF 3D LiDAR scanner (depth)
Stills: Night mode portrait with LiDAR, Portrait mode with Focus and Depth Control, Portrait Lighting with six effects, Adaptive True Tone flash, Panorama, Night mode, Deep Fusion, Smart HDR 5, Apple ProRAW, Photographic Styles, Macro Photography, Auto-image stabilization, Advanced red-eye correction, Burst mode
Video: Up to 4K60 HDR video with Dolby Vision, 4K60 ProRes video with external recording, 4K30 HDR Cinematic mode, 1080p240 slow-mo, 2.8K60 Action mode, Log Video
Selfie Camera 12MP f/1.9, 23mm (wide), 1/3.6″ selfie camera
Stills: Portrait mode, Portrait Lighting, Animoji & Memoji, Deep Fusion, Smart HDR 4, Apple ProRAW, Photographic styles
Video: Up to 4K60 HDR video with Dolby Vision, 4K30 HDR Cinematic mode with zoom, 4K30 ProRes video, 1080p120 slow-mo, Retina Flash
Connectivity WiFi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax, WiFi 6E with 2×2 MIMO
Bluetooth 5.3
NFC with reader mode
Ultra Wideband chip
5G NR sub-6GHz with 4×4 MIMO (Bands n1, n2, n3, n5, n7, n8, n12, n20, n25, n26, n28, n29, n30, n38, n40, n41, n48, n53, n66, n70, n77, n78, n79)
FDD-LTE Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 30, 32, 66)
USB Type-C 3.2 Gen2
Software iOS 17.0.2
Battery Li-ion 4441mAh
20W charging
15W MagSafe wireless charging, 7.5W Qi wireless charging
Dimensions 159.9 x 76.7 x 8.25 mm
Weight 221g
Ingress Protection IP68 (max depth of 6m up to 30 mins) under IEC standard 60529

Performance

The iPhone 15 Pro Max houses the A17 Pro chip, dropping the Bionic nomenclature from the name this time around. It’s Apple silicon redefined using the latest 3-nanometer transistor technology. The A17 Pro chip also brings about some new features. It has dedicated engines for pro features like the ProRes codec, a new AV1 decoder that improves streaming services efficiency, and and for the first time, it has a USB controller that supports USB3 speeds up to 10Gbps. It was openly claimed that the CPU itself is 10% faster, the GPU is 20% faster and the Neural Engine has been bumped up to twice the performance in comparison to the A16 Bionic chip. These are rather bold claims, but there’s only one way for us to find out.

iPhone 15 Pro Max Review - Titanium Temptations 8

First up, our Geekbench test shows what the CPU is capable of. Judging by the score, Apple really wasn’t lying when they claimed that their CPU is 10% faster. In fact, if my maths teacher didn’t lie to me, this is way higher than 10% on both the single core and multi-core performances. Off to a good start.

iPhone 15 Pro Max Review - Titanium Temptations 9

Next, we have our Antutu v7 benchmark test. Bear in mind, Antutu puts multiple elements to test including the CPU, GPU, Memory and the UX rendering. The iPhone 14 Pro previously scored 970635 and got kicked off from the charts. The iPhone 15 Pro Max is giving a very fierce competition to the rest of the devices. In fact, it’s the first device to hit 1.5m on Antutu score in our charts. As exciting as it is to see this unfolding, it feels too good to be true.