Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 CL19 Review — sweet, sexy performance

Vyncent Chan
9 Min Read
Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 CL19 Review — sweet, sexy performance
  • Appearance - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Features - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Materials - 8.7/10
    8.7/10
  • Performance - 9/10
    9/10
  • Value - 7.5/10
    7.5/10

Summary

You can’t go wrong with the Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4 RGB, with its excellent performance and aesthetics on tap!

Overall
8.5/10
8.5/10

Pros

+ Aggressive design should appeal to gamers
+ Excellent in-sync RGB effects is awesome
+ Two XMP profiles make for easy one-click performance boost
+ Plenty of overclocking headroom to play with

Cons

– Packaging should indicate specs more clearly

You probably know Kingston is probably as a top-notch memory and storage vendors. Their gaming-oriented lineup is also very popular, with gaming peripherals and also premium storage and memory solutions for gamers. After they sold off their Kingston HyperX peripherals business to HP recently, they underwent a rebranding exercise, and now we have the Kingston FURY Renegade here, or what you might have known as the HyperX Predator. We received the Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600, which is really really impressive, as we will get to in a bit.

Unboxing

Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 Review-1

Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 Review-1

Packaging wise, the Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4 RGB isn’t exactly different from their previous lineup of products. It does highlight the new name and also design, which is probably quite important. And of course it lists out the support RGB controls.

Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 Review-2

Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 Review-2

Over on the back, it can get a bit confusing as somehow Kingston decided that it would be a good idea to use an image of the FURY Beast RGB memory, instead of one of the Kingston FURY Renegade. And my main complaint with the packaging is here: the specifications of the kit within is only visible on that label. I mean, how hard can it be to add a large sticker on the front telling everyone that this is a sweet 8GB x 2, DDR4-4600 CL19 kit of memory?

Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 Review-3

Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 Review-3

On the inside we have a warranty guide as well as a Kingston FURY sticker. Everything is encased in this stiff injection-molded clear plastic tray, which should provide sufficient protection from shipping damage. A stiffer cardboard box would also have been welcome though, but I would probably highlight the need for a specifications sticker on the front before Kingston reworks anything else about their packaging.

Appearance

Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 Review-4

Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 Review-4

The heatspreader on the Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4 RGB looks absolutely amazing, with a thinner black stamped sheet of metal slapped onto a thicker matte black heatspreader. The aesthetics on this is very aggressive, with the simple, straight lines on the heatspreader and jagged edges of the stamped metal sheet on top.

Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 Review-5

Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 Review-5

When off, the translucent light spreader stand out quite a bit from the dark design, but I do believe that’s intended. After all, the Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4 RGB isn’t meant to be used without RGB. Kingston actually offers the Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4 if you don’t want RGB in your system.

Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 Review-8

Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4-4600 Review-8

Once you turn on your system, the RGB flows very smoothly. One thing that I am very impressed with Kingston is how they managed to get their RGB to be synced flawlessly between the sticks, even before you take motherboard RGB controls into the equation. The Kingston FURY Infrared Sync technology really does work.

We won’t be testing RGB effects in much detail, but Kingston is also currently working on their own FURY CTRL software, that will allow you to adjust the lighting on legacy HyperX RGB and also the FURY RGB RAM kits. That was unfortunately not ready for us at the time of writing, but since there’s support for just about every motherboard maker out there, you should be fine.

Specifications

Kingston FURY Renegade DDR4 RGB (DDR4-4600, CL19)

Memory dies 8Gb Hynix DJR
Frequency DDR4-2400 (SPD)
DDR4-4600 (XMP 1)
DDR4-4000 (XMP 2)
Primary Timings CL17-17-17-39 (SPD)
CL19-26-26-45 (XMP 1)
CL19-23-23-42 (XMP 2)
Voltage 1.20V (SPD)
1.50V (XMP 1)
1.35V (XMP 2)
Capacity 8GB x 2
Dimensions 42.2(H) x 133.35(L) x 8(W) mm

Test Machine

CPU Intel Core i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz
CPU Cooler MasterLiquid ML240R
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus XIII Hero
Storage Kingston UV400 120GB
Kingston UV500 1TB
Kingston KC2500 1TB
Power Supply Cooler Master V1200 Platinum
GPU NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti Founders Edition

Performance

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *