ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED (M7600) Review — a wallet-friendly content creator laptop?

Vyncent Chan
23 Min Read
ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED (M7600) Review — a wallet-friendly content creator laptop?
  • Appearance - 8.3/10
    8.3/10
  • Efficiency - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Features - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Materials - 8.4/10
    8.4/10
  • Performance - 7.7/10
    7.7/10
  • Portability - 8/10
    8/10
  • User Experience - 8.4/10
    8.4/10
  • Value - 8.1/10
    8.1/10

Summary

The ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED will satisfy most budding creators with its ASUS DialPad, but it isn’t without its flaws.

Overall
8.3/10
8.3/10

Pros

+ Raised logo on the lid is a nice change from regular flat laptop lids
+ Excellent storage and CPU performance
+ Amazing battery life!
+ Surprisingly good thermals
+ Stunning 4K OLED display
+ ASUS DialPad vastly improves the experience in content creation apps
+ Rather portable for the performance on tap

Cons

– Anemic GeForce RTX 3050 Ti
– No upgrade options: soldered RAM and single M.2 slot
– I/O tops out at USB 3.0 speeds
– No support for USB-PD

Along with the ASUS ProArt Studiobook OLED series, ASUS also announced the ASUS Vivobook Pro lineup. The ASUS’ Vivobook series are trendy, mainstream laptops, and with the Vivobook Pro series, ASUS seems to want to serve budding content creators, who might have much smaller budgets than the pros they are targeting with the ProArt Studiobook OLED series. Well, let’s see if the ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED (M7600) here ticks all the right boxes as a more wallet-friendly content creation workhorse.

Unboxing

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-15

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-15

In the rather flashy packaging that says “WOW THE WORLD” in bold text across the top, we only get the basics: a 120W power adapter, some documentation and a cool set of stickers. One unfortunate thing is that ASUS didn’t go with USB-PD, and instead we have a standard barrel charging connector. Oh well.

Appearance

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-1

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-1

The unit we have here is finished in a fancily named 0° Black, which looks pretty much like a standard sandblasted black finish. I do appreciate the raised label though, which sets the ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED (M7600) apart from most of the laptops out there. Interestingly enough, ASUS has dropped their renowned ErgoLift hinge that raises the bottom of the laptop. Does it really matter? Well, let’s keep that for later.

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-12

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-12

The underside of the laptop features a few angular cuts along the sides for a more dynamic look, although I do feel like it will most probably be overlooked by most users. One thing that probably won’t be overlooked is the long rubber feet at the top, that will not only raise the laptop when you are using it, but also provide some additional grip if you are carrying it around. Nice touch there. And of course, I also like the generous vents, as they feed the fans directly.

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-2

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-2

Opening up the laptop, we are greeted by a pretty standard-looking layout. A nice keyboard with contrast modifiers and a numpad, as well as a taller 16:10 display that minimizes the bezels around the display. Overall, a pretty standard looking laptop. But there’s definitely more than meets the eye here. Remember the ASUS Dial? Well… Keep that in mind, for now.

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED (M7600) Specifications

CPU AMD Ryzen 9 5900HX, 8C/16T @ 3.3GHz (Boost up to 4.6GHz), 45W+ TDP, 7nm
RAM 16GB DDR4-3200 (on-board, dual-channel)
Graphics AMD Radeon Graphics, 8CU @ up to 2.1GHz
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3050 Ti Laptop GPU 4GB GDRR6, 35W TGP (50W with Dynamic Boost)
Storage 512GB SK Hynix HFM512GD3JX013N SSD M.2 PCIe 3.0 x4 SSD
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Home
NVIDIA Studio Driver 472.47
ProArt Creator Hub
MyASUS
Microsoft Office Home & Student 2019 (included)
Adobe Creative Cloud (3-month subscription free)
McAfee Personal Security
Connectivity Wireless
Intel Wi-Fi 6 AX200 (WiFi 6 + Bluetooth 5.2)
Wired
1 x USB 3.2 Gen 1 (Type-C), 5Gbps
1 x USB 3.2 Gen 1 (Type-A), 5Gbps
2 x USB 2.0
1 x microSD card reader
1 x 3.5mm audio jack
Display 16″ WQUXGA (3840 x 2400) 16:10 OLED display (Samsung SDC415D)
550 nits, 100% DCI-P3, Pantone Validated, VESA DisplayHDR True Black 500
1 x HDMI 1.4
Audio Stereo speakers, tuned by harman/kardon
Array microphone, Alexa, Cortana voice-recognition support
AI Noise-Cancelling Mic + AI Noise-Cancelling Speaker
Power 96WHrs 6-cell Li-ion battery
120W power adapter
Dimensions 360.5 x 259 x 18.9 mm
Weight 1.95kg

Performance

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review CrystalDiskMark

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review CrystalDiskMark

The storage solution that ASUS equipped the ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED with is definitely a strong performer. Its sequential read speeds are right up at the limit of what the PCIe 3.0 x4 interface is capable of, and while write speeds are significantly slower, the quick read speeds are what will let you load your apps faster, which is arguably more important to most people for a snappy user experience.

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review Cinebench R20

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review Cinebench R20

Continuing on that positive note, the ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED’s CPU outperforms all its AMD Ryzen 9 5900HX peers, coming out on top of the stack. The only laptop we have tested that’s faster than the ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED (M7600) in Cinebench is the ROG Zephyrus M16, which packs an Core i9-11900H.

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review Superposition

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review Superposition

And that’s about as far as the good news go. Due to a rather anemic GeForce RTX 3050 Ti Laptop GPU that only has a power budget of 50W, this is slower than even last-gen GeForce RTX 2060 and GeForce GTX 1660 Ti laptops. Definitely not something I can recommend if gaming is your primary usage scenario.

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review 3DMark Time Spy

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review 3DMark Time Spy

3DMark Time Spy puts it in a similar position. Here, it is actually lower down in the charts than the venerable ROG Strix SCAR II which packs a GeForce GTX 1070 that I still use to handle our weekly PokdeLIVE!

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review 3DMark Port Royal

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review 3DMark Port Royal

The ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED (M7600) is currently the slowest laptop we have tested with 3DMark Port Royal, which indicates that while you might be able to get away with some gaming, raytracing is not really an option you should consider unless you particularly enjoy looking at slideshows.

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review PCMark 10 performance

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review PCMark 10 performance

After the horrendous graphics benchmarks, let’s take a look at PCMark 10 which tests other usage scenarios. It seems to perform quite well in all aspects, with the exception being the digital content creation section. I believe this is due to the limited performance from the GPU when it comes to handling the parts that involve OpenCL and raytracing. In apps that can take advantage of NVENC and CUDA processing, like most of the Adobe suite, it should perform better.

Battery Life

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review PCMark battery life

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review PCMark battery life

What it lacks in performance, it definitely makes up with its battery life. The ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED ended up outperforming most of the laptops we have tested, charting a nice 11 hours and 10 minutes in the PCMark battery life benchmark. It does have the largest battery in the stack, but that still doesn’t take away from the fact that it offers more than double the battery life of my favorite laptop, the ROG Zephyrus G14, with its battery that’s less than 26% larger.

Cooling

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-14

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-14

While I will admit that the dual-fan, dual-heatpipe cooling system of the ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED (M7600) doesn’t really give me much confidence, it seems that it is perfectly adequate to tame the AMD Ryzen 9 5900HX and GeForce RTX 3050 Ti here.

Over a 15-minute Realbench stress test, the highest CPU and GPU temperatures recorded was just 86.1°C and 71.7°C, respectively. CPU clocks averaged 3.28GHz with an average power draw of 48.2W. Peak CPU power draw was a tad lower than what we have seen in other laptops, at just 64.825W, but peak CPU clocks are still very respectable at 4.46GHz. Meanwhile the GPU chugged along at 1268.6MHz on average, with an average power draw of 34.79W.

I guess this is a lesson to never judge a book by its cover. Despite its suboptimal dual-heatpipe design and exhausts along its hinge, the ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED (M7600) does a great job handling the thermal output of its components. I guess ASUS really managed make something great with the IceCool Plus cooling system.

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-13

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-13

With the bottom cover off, we can see that the fans and heatpipes are asymmetrical. The larger fan cools the heatsink connected to the larger heatpipe, while the smaller fan blows air through the smaller heatsink on the end of the smaller heatpipe. The CPU and GPU share both heatpipes, so the cooling afforded to both chips is the same.

One thing that you might notice is that the VRM feeding the CPU and GPU aren’t covered by the heatspreaders, so I do recommend using the ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED with a laptop cooler if you are going to put it under heavy loads for extended periods. Aside from that, you can probably see that that there is no room for upgrades. The only thing that you can replace are the M.2 SSD and the WiFi adapter.

User Experience

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-5

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-5

As part of the “Pro” family, the ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED (M7600) also gets a physical privacy shutter over its webcam. It definitely helps for those who are particularly concerned about their privacy and security. There’s no IR facial recognition here though, so you will have to rely on the fingerprint scanner that’s embedded in the power button. Personally, I do prefer fingerprint scanners over facial recognition systems, so this is great.

Display and Audio

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-4

ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED review-4

The ASUS Vivobook Pro 16X OLED (M7600) shares its 16″ 16:10 OLED panel sourced from Samsung with the much pricier ASUS ProArt Studiobook 16 OLED which we checked out recently. As such, it is also delivers the exceptional colors and accuracy that the ProArt Studiobook 16 OLED brought to the table. It is slightly less accurate with the average Delta E at 1.99, but it is still very good. Color gamut coverage is also amazing.